If you are a divorced or unmarried parent who shares custody (now known as Parental Responsibilities) with your ex, you may have questions about moving. Each state handles child custody issues differently. In Illinois, you may need to complete certain steps and get the court’s permission to move if the move counts as a “relocation” under Illinois family law. The county in which you reside and the distance between your current home and future home impact the steps needed to move with your child. Read on to learn the answers to frequently asked questions about parental relocations in Illinois.
What is the Difference Between Moving and Relocating?
The words “move” and “relocation” are sometimes used interchangeably, however, these terms have different meanings under Illinois child custody law. If you live in Cook County, DuPage County, McHenry County, Kane County, Lake County, or Will County, any move further than 25 miles away is considered a relocation. The move is also a relocation if you move out of the State of Illinois, even if it is less than 25 miles. If you live in an Illinois county not listed above, moving more than 50 miles away is considered a relocation.
Do I Have to Get the Court’s Permission to Relocate?
If the intended move counts as a relocation, you must file a notice of relocation and inform your child’s other parent about the move. If the other parent consents to the relocation, he or she signs the notice and you file the notice with the court. The court will make any necessary modifications needed to your parenting time and parental responsibilities orders. However, if the parent does not consent to the relocation and refuses to sign the notice, you will need to get the court’s permission to move.